Officially approved by the two Federal Offices for Agriculture and for the Environment
D | F | E

About Terranimo®


Download PDF

See also paper (PDF) from journal LANDTECHNIK 69(3), 2014, 132-137

1. What is Terranimo® and what does it do?

Terranimo® is a computer model that predicts the risk of soil compaction by farm machinery. Terranimo® is primarily addressed to farmers, agricultural contractors and consultants, and enforcement authorities. The simulation model calculates the risk of compaction damage for real operating conditions. The results can serve to optimise the use of agricultural machines, and thus help to avoid damage to the soil structure.


2. The people behind Terranimo®?

Terranimo® is the work of an international team, formed around Swiss and Danish scientists. In Switzerland, these are Thomas Keller from the ART Agricultural Research Station in Reckenholz and Matthias Stettler from the School of Agricutural, Forest and Food Sciences HAFL. In Denmark, the work is carried out by Per Schjønning, Mathieu Lamandé and Poul Lassen from the Department of Agroecology of Aarhus University at the Research Centre Foulum in Tjele.


3. The idea behind Terranimo®

Terranimo® is based on a simple and well known principle: the pressure exerted by an agricultural machine (soil stress) is balanced by the resistance of the soil (soil strength, fig. 1).



Figure 1: Terranimo® is based on the principle of the balance between soil stress and soil strength.

If the soil strength is greater than the stress exerted, no permanent compaction will occur and no damage is to be expected. Conversely, if the soil strength is lower than the stress, subsoil compaction is unavoidable and one should refrain from driving on the soil.
Estimating soil stress and soil strength is not simple, however. Terranimo® takes a number of important parameters into account in order to calculate the risk of soil compaction as precisely as possible. The model exists in two versions adapted to different users: Terranimo® light for a simple and quick assessment of the risk of soil compaction in standard situations, and Terranimo® for a detailed analyses of the risk of soil compaction under specific conditions.


4. Terranimo® light: risk assessment made easy

Terranimo® light uses four parameters to quickly assess the risk of soil compaction: wheel load, tyre inflation pressure, soil moisture and soil clay content.

Wheel load and tyre inflation pressure are used to calculate the stress in the subsoil at a depth of 35 cm. This depth was chosen in reference to the prescriptions on soil protection applied in the Swiss building sector and is justified by the particular vulnerability of the subsoil, as compaction damage in this layer is very difficult to repair.
The formula for calculating the soil stress was derived from wheeling tests carried out in Denmark using various types of commercial tyres under different combinations of wheel load and tyre inflation pressure. The results obtained showed that wheel load and tyre inflation pressure describe the soil stress quite precisely, whatever the make and type of tyres used. This relation can be depicted in a nomogramm (figure 2), showing how soil stress (represented as isolines) varies with higher wheel loads and greater tyre inflation pressures.



Figure 2: Soil stress nomogram (modified from Schjønning et al. 2012). The isolines show the stress at 35 cm depth as a function of wheel load and tyre inflation pressure.

Soil strength can be estimated using the water suction, a measure of soil moisture, and the clay content. The soil strength function was derived by laboratory soil compression tests (oedometer tests) carried out in Denmark on ca. 500 soil samples. The samples were tested at least 3 different water suctions (5, 10 and 30 cbar) and their clay content varied between 5 and 18%. The resulting nomogram (fig. 3) shows that the correlations are somewhat more complex than in the case of soil stress: the effect of water suction on soil strength varies, depending on the clay content of the soil. In moist conditions (water suction < 10 cbar), light soils (i.e. low clay contents) are in principle more stable than heavy soils. When they dry out however, their resistance increases much less than that of clayey soils. Around field capacity (water suction  10 cbar), the influence of the clay content is relatively small. This rule was confirmed by oedometer tests carried out in Switzerland.



Figure 3: Soil resistance nomogram (modified from Schjønning, unpublished). The isolines show precompression stress at 35 cm depth, as a function of clay content and water suction.

In Terranimo® light, these values of soil stress and soil strength are recorded in a three-coloured decision chart (fig. 4). This constitutes the actual risk assessment. The effective compaction risk is assigned to one of three hazard levels, green, yellow or red.

• Green: no risk of soil compaction. Driving on the soil at its present moisture level and with the intended equipment will not damage the soil.

• Yellow: in the yellow area there is a considerable risk of soil compaction. Knowledge of additional soil properties allows to further specify the actual risk. For example, it will decrease in stony (> 10% stones in the subsoil), or well-structured soils (i.e. thanks to soil conservation measures, regular root distribution, high humus content or good lime supply). Stress should be reduced by all possible means (e.g. by lowering tyre pressure, only partially filling the hopper or installing twin tyres).

• Red: the red area in the chart shows the strength/stress combinations at which permanent compaction to the subsoil is to be expected. Refrain from driving on the soil unless you have taken appropriate measures to return to the yellow hazard level (e.g. reducing wheel load or tyre pressure).

The green-yellow limit corresponds to a stress equal to 50% of soil strength. According to current knowledge, this represents to the transition between elastic (reversible deformation, no permanent damage) and plastic (irreversible) deformation of the soil, i.e. permanent compaction (Keller et al. 2012). The yellow-red limit corresponds to a stress equal to 110% of soil strength. In the red area, according to recent results of wheeling tests, considerable plastic deformations (and thus permanent, damageable, compaction) are to be expected.



Figure 4: The decision chart as presented in Terranimo® light, correlating soil stress and soil strength and classifying the compaction risk in three levels (green, yellow, red).

5. Terranimo® expert: a detailed analysis of the physical load applied to the soil

Terranimo® expert is much more complex than Terranimo® light and is intended as a tool for specialists to study specific situations of vehicles circulating on soil. Terranimo® expert is composed of 4 sub-models:

(1) Upper model boundary: contact area and stress distribution between the tyre and the soil

(2) Stress propagation in the soil

(3) Estimation of soil strength as a function of depth

(4) Assessment of compaction risk based on the calculated stress and the actual soil strength

The upper model boundary was determined with the FRIDA model (Schjønning et al., 2008), which simulates the contact area and the stress distribution between tyre and soil. The tyre footprint is described by a super ellipse and the stress distribution by a combined exponential (perpendicular to the direction of movement) and power function (in the direction of movement). FRIDA describes the actual situation very well, in particular the predominant influence of tyre inflation pressure (fig. 5).



Figure 5: Diagrams of stress distribution between tyre and soil, as measured (left) and modelled with FRIDA (right), for two different tyre inflation pressures. Tyre used in this example: Michelin MultiBib 650/65R38 with 3.5 t wheel load.

In order to use FRIDA with other tyres than those studied, estimator functions were developed to calculate the various model parameters. Accordingly, it is possible to predict the tyre-soil contact area and stress distribution for all types of tyre, using easily obtainable tyre data (width, diameter, manufacturer recommended and effective inflation pressure), the wheel load and the condition of the topsoil.

In order to simplify the input of tyre data, a databank of commonly used tyres was added to the model. It now contains over 1000 tyres from a number of manufacturers (Alliance, Continental, Goodyear, Kléber, Michelin, Nokian, Trelleborg and Vredestein), listed with all their technical specifications according to ETRTO (European Tyre and Rim Technical Organisation).

Stress propagation is calculated analytically in Terranimo®, based on the formulas of Boussinesq (1885), Fröhlich (1934) and Söhne (1953). An important element of this theory is the concentration factor v, which determines the shape of the stress distribution in the soil (fig. 6).



Figure 6: Shape of the stress distribution for different concentration factors v.

In Terranimo® expert, the factor v varies according to soil strength, as already proposed by Söhne (1953): in wet soils, v = 6, in hard (dry soils), v = 4, and in moist soils v = 5. In Terranimo® expert, the soil strength is calculated in the same way as in the light version, and the corresponding compaction risk is also presented in the form of a three-coloured decision chart. In addition, Terranimo® expert also produces diagrams of stress distribution at the tyre-soil interface and in the soil profile (onion charts). With this information it becomes possible to assess the compaction risk along the entire soil profile, and not only at 35 cm depth, as in Terranimo® light.


 

References

Boussinesq J. 1885. Application des Potentiels à l’étude de l’équilibre et du Mouvement des Solides Élastiques. Gauthier-Villars, Paris, 30 pp.

Fröhlich O.K. 1934. Druckverteilung im Baugrunde. Springer Verlag, Wien, 178 pp.

Keller T. 2004. Soil Compaction and Soil Tillage – Studies in Agricultural Soil Mechanics. Doctoral Thesis. Agraria 489, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, Sweden, 75 pp.

Keller T. 2005. A model for prediction of the contact area and the distribution of vertical stress below agricultural tyres from readily-available tyre parameters. Biosystems Engineering 92, 85-96.

Keller T. & Lamandé M. 2010. Challenges in the development of analytical soil compaction models. Soil & Tillage Research, 111, 54-64.

Keller T., Lamandé M., Schjønning P. & Dexter A.R. 2011. Analysis of soil compression curves from uniaxial confined compression tests. Geoderma 163, 13-23.

Schjønning P., Lamandé M., Tøgersen F.A., Pedersen J. & Hansen P.O.M. 2006. Reduction of soil compaction. Magnitude and distribution of stress in the contact area between wheel and soil. Report Markbrug No. 127. The Danish Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Tjele, Denmark, 102 pp.

Schjønning, P., Lamandé M., Tøgersen F.A., Arvidsson J. & Keller T. 2008. Modelling effects of tyre inflation pressure on the stress distribution near the soil-tyre interface. Biosystems Engineering 99, 119-133.

Schjønning P., Lamandé M., Keller T., Pedersen J. & Stettler M. 2012. Rules of thumb for minimizing subsoil compaction. Soil Use and Management, 28(3), 378-393.

Söhne W. 1953. Druckverteilung im Boden und Bodenverformung unter Schlepperreifen. Grundlagen der Landtechnik 5, 49-63.

Approuvé officiellement par les deux Offices fédérales de l’agriculture et de l’environnement
D | F | E

Présentation de Terranimo®


Version téléchargeable (pdf)

1. Qu’est-ce que Terranimo® et à quoi sert-il?

Terranimo est un modèle informatique permettant de déterminer le risque de compaction du sol lors de l’utilisation de véhicules agricoles. Terranimo s’adresse avant tout aux agriculteurs, aux entreprises de travaux agricoles, aux conseillers et aux autorités d’exécution, mais il devrait aussi pouvoir être employé à des fins scientifiques. Terranimo doit contribuer à optimiser l’emploi au champ des machines agricoles et à limiter les dégâts causés à la structure du sol en mettant en évidence les situations où le risque de compaction persistante du sol est élevé.


2. Qui a créé Terranimo®?

Terranimo est un projet international, porté par une équipe de scientifiques suisses et danois. Au Danemark, les travaux sont menés par Per Schjønning, Mathieu Lamandé et Poul Lassen, du centre de recherche Foulum, à Tjele, une unité du département d’agroécologie de l’Université d’Aarhus.


3. Le principe de Terranimo®

Terranimo se base sur une idée simple et bien connue : la pression au sol (ou contrainte) exercée par les machines agricoles est compensée par la résistance du sol (fig. 1).



Figure 1: Terranimo® se base sur le principe de l’équilibre entre la contrainte exercée sur le sol et la résistance du sol.

Si la résistance du sol est plus élevée que la contrainte exercée, il n’y a pas lieu de craindre l’apparition de déformations persistantes, c’est-à-dire dommageables, du sol. En revanche, si la pression exercée sur le sol dépasse sa résistance, les compactions sont inévitables et il faudrait éviter de circuler sur le sol.
A vrai dire, il est assez compliqué d’estimer la contrainte exercée sur un sol et la résistance de ce dernier. Terranimo prend en compte une série de paramètres importants pour arriver à une évaluation aussi exacte que possible du risque de compaction. Le modèle existe en deux versions, adaptées aux besoins d’utilisateurs différents : Terranimo light pour une évaluation simple et rapide, mais approximative, et Terranimo expert pour une analyse exhaustive du risque de compaction dans des conditions précises.


4. Terranimo® light: l’évaluation du risque à la portée de tous

Terranimo light se base sur quatre paramètres pour fournir une évaluation rapide du risque de compaction du sol : charge à la roue, pression de gonflage des pneus, taux d’humidité et teneur en argile du sol.

La contrainte à 35 cm de profondeur est calculée à partir de la charge à la roue et de la pression de gonflage des pneus. La valeur de 35 cm découle des normes de protection du sol appliquées dans le domaine de la construction et se justifie par la nécessité de protéger en priorité ces premières couches sous-jacentes du sol, car les dommages y sont très difficiles à réparer.
La formule utilisée pour calculer la contrainte se fonde sur des essais de roulage réalisés au Danemark avec plusieurs types de pneu et divers couples charge à la roue / pression de gonflage du pneu (Schjønning et al. 2012). L’analyse des résultats a montré que la charge à la roue et la pression de gonflage décrivent assez précisément la contrainte exercée sur le sol, indépendamment de la marque ou du type de pneu. Cette relation peut être décrite sous la forme d’un nomogramme (fig. 2) : lorsque la charge à la roue et la pression de gonflage du pneu augmentent, la contrainte exercée sur le sol croît également.



Figure 2: Nomogramme de la contrainte exercée sur le sol (modifié d’après Schjønning et al. 2012): les isolignes montrent la pression à 35 cm de profondeur en fonction de la charge à la roue et de la pression de gonflage des pneus.

La résistance du sol peut être estimée à partir de la force de succion, une mesure de l’humidité d’un sol, et de sa teneur en argile. La fonction de calcul se fonde sur des mesures œdométriques (tests de compression pour déterminer le rapport entre pression et tassement) effectués sur quelque 500 échantillons de sols danois, à au moins trois forces de succion différentes (5, 10 et 15 cbar) et pour des teneurs en argile variant entre 5 et 18 %. Le nomogramme ci-dessous (fig. 3) montre que les relations entre teneur en argile et force de succion sont un peu plus complexes que celles qui déterminent la contrainte exercée sur le sol. En effet, selon la teneur en argile du sol, l’influence de la force de succion sur la résistance du sol variera considérablement. Ainsi lorsqu’ils sont humides (force de succion < 10 cbar), les sols légers, à faible teneur en argile, sont en général plus stables que les sols lourds, mais, lorsqu’ils s’assèchent, leur résistance croît nettement moins que celle des sols argileux. Autour de la capacité au champ (lorsque la force de succion est environ égale à 10 cbar), l’influence de la teneur en argile est relativement faible. Ce principe a pu être validé par des mesures œdométriques effectuées en Suisse.



Figure 3: Nomogramme de la résistance du sol (modifié d’après Schjønning, non publié) : les isolignes montrent la pression de préconsolidation à 35 cm de profondeur en fonction de la teneur en argile et de la force de succion.

Dans Terranimo light, les valeurs de contrainte et de résistance du sol, déterminées comme expliqué ci-dessus, sont reportées sur le diagramme de décision à trois couleurs présenté dans la figure 4, ce qui constitue de fait l’évaluation du risque. Le risque de compaction se voit attribuer un de trois niveaux de risque (vert, jaune, rouge), décrits ci-après.

• Vert : aucun risque de compaction; il est donc possible de rouler sans risque sur le sol dans son état actuel avec le véhicule prévu.

• Jaune : domaine de transition critique, avec risque de compaction notable. La connaissance d’autres caractéristiques du sol permet de préciser le niveau de risque. Ainsi, lorsque la teneur en pierres du sous-sol dépasse 10 % ou si le sol est bien structuré (notamment parce que des mesures de conservation ont été prises, que l’enracinement est bon, qu’il a une teneur élevée en humus ou bénéficie d’un apport de calcaire suffisant), alors le risque diminue. Dans tous les cas, il faut également tirer profit des possibilités techniques de réduire la contrainte (p. ex. diminuer la pression de gonflage, ne remplir que partiellement la trémie, monter des roues jumelées, etc.).

• Rouge : risque avéré de compaction persistante de la couche sous-jacente du sol. Il faut s’abstenir de circuler sur le sol, sauf si des mesures immédiates permettent de ramener le risque dans la zone jaune (p. ex. réduction de la pression de gonflage ou de la charge à la roue).

La limite vert-jaune correspond à une contrainte égale à 50 % de la résistance du sol. Selon l’état actuel des connaissances, cette valeur correspond au passage d’un état de plasticité totale (aucun dommage persitant) à un début de déformation plastique de la structure du sol (début de compaction persistante, Keller et al. 2011). La limite jaune-rouge correspond à une contrainte égale à 110 % de la résistance du sol. Dans la portion rouge du graphique, des essais de roulage au champ ont montré qu’il faut s’attendre à des déformations plastiques importantes de la structure du sol, et par conséquent à des compactions persistantes.



Figure 4: Diagramme de décision de Terranimo® light, illustrant la relation entre contrainte exercées sur le sol et résistance du sol, et classant le risque de compaction en trois niveaux (vert, jaune, rouge).

5. Terranimo® expert: analyse exhaustive des sollicitations auxquelles est soumis un sol

Terranimo expert est nettement plus complexe que Terranimo light. Cet instrument doit permettre à des spécialistes de simuler divers cas de circulation sur le sol. Terranimo expert se compose de quatre sous-modèles:

(1) Contraintes à la surface du sol : aire de contact et répartition de la pression entre le pneu et le sol;

(2) Changement de la pression dans le sol;

(3) Estimation de la résistance du sol dans le profil de sol;

(4) Evaluation du risque de compaction sur la base de la pression calculée et de la résistance du sol actuelle.

Le calcul des contraintes en surface du sol se base sur le modèle FRIDA (Schjønning et al., 2008), qui est en mesure de simuler la superficie de contact et la distribution des contraintes entre le pneus et le sol. Le contour de l’aire de contact est décrit par une courbe de Lamé, la distribution des contraintes dans la direction de marche du véhicule est modélisée avec une fonction puissance et celle perpendiculaire à la direction de marche avec une fonction de décroissance exponentielle. FRIDA décrit très bien les conditions réelles, en particulier l’influence prépondérante de la pression du pneu (fig. 5).



Figure 5: Conditions à l'interface pneu-sol, mesurées (à gauche) et modélisées, à différentes pressions de gonflage du pneu. Exemple d’un pneu Michelin MultiBib 650/65R38 avec une charge à la roue de 3.5 t.

Pour pouvoir appliquer FRIDA à des pneus autres que ceux étudiés expérimentalement, des estimateurs ont été développés pour évaluer les divers paramètres du modèle. Ainsi, en connaissant de la charge à la roue, l’état de couches supérieures du sol et quelques données sur le pneu faciles à obtenir (largeur, diamètre, pression recommandée par le fabricant et pression effective), il est possible de représenter les contraintes dans la zone de contact pneu-sol pour tout type de pneu.

Une base de données des marques et modèles de pneus les plus courants a été intégrée à Terranimo, ce qui simplifie et accélère la saisie des informations. Elle contient à ce jour les données techniques complètes selon l’ETRTO (European Tyre and Rim Technical Organisation) de plus de 1000 pneus, des marques Alliance, Continental, Goodyear, Kléber, Michelin, Nokian, Trelleborg et Vredestein.

Le changement de la contrainte dans le sol est calculé de manière analytique dans Terranimo, à partir des formules de Boussinesq (1885), Fröhlich (1934) et Söhne (1953). Un élément important de cette théorie, est le facteur de concentration v. Il détermine la forme du champ de contraintes dans le sol (fig. 6).



Figure 6: Répartition "en peau d’oignon" des lignes de contrainte dans le sol pour différents facteurs de concentration v.

Dans Terranimo expert, ce facteur est choisi en fonction de la résistance du sol, comme l’avait déjà proposé Söhne (1953). Pour les sols mous (mouillés), v = 6, pour les sols durs (secs), v = 4 et pour les sols moyens (humides), v = 5. La résistance du sol est calculée dans Terranimo expert de la même manière que dans la version light et le risque de compaction est également présenté sous forme d’un diagramme de décision en trois couleurs. En complément, Terranimo expert présente des graphiques de la répartition des contraintes et des diagrammes « en oignon », illustrant la différence entre la contrainte exercée et la pression de préconsolidation du sol. Grâce à ces deux outils, le risque de compaction peut être évalué sur toute la hauteur du profil et non pas uniquement à 35 cm de profondeur, comme avec Terranimo light.


 

Bibliographie

Boussinesq J. 1885. Application des potentiels à l’étude de l’équilibre et du mouvement des solides élastiques. Gauthier-Villars, Paris, 30 pp.

Fröhlich O.K. 1934. Druckverteilung im Baugrunde. Springer Verlag, Wien, 178 pp.

Keller T. 2004. Soil Compaction and Soil Tillage – Studies in Agricultural Soil Mechanics. Doctoral Thesis. Agraria 489, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, Sweden, 75 pp.

Keller T. 2005. A model for prediction of the contact area and the distribution of vertical stress below agricultural tyres from readily-available tyre parameters. Biosystems Engineering 92, 85-96.

Keller T. & Lamandé M. 2010. Challenges in the development of analytical soil compaction models. Soil & Tillage Research, 111, 54-64.

Keller T., Lamandé M., Schjønning P. & Dexter A.R. 2011. Analysis of soil compression curves from uniaxial confined compression tests. Geoderma 163, 13-23.

Schjønning P., Lamandé M., Tøgersen F.A., Pedersen J. & Hansen P.O.M. 2006. Reduction of soil compaction. Magnitude and distribution of stress in the contact area between wheel and soil. Report Markbrug No. 127. The Danish Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Tjele, Denmark, 102 pp.

Schjønning, P., Lamandé M., Tøgersen F.A., Arvidsson J. & Keller T. 2008. Modelling effects of tyre inflation pressure on the stress distribution near the soil-tyre interface. Biosystems Engineering 99, 119-133.

Schjønning P., Lamandé M., Keller T., Pedersen J. & Stettler M. 2012. Rules of thumb for minimizing subsoil compaction. Soil Use and Management, 28(3), 378-393.

Söhne W. 1953. Druckverteilung im Boden und Bodenverformung unter Schlepperreifen. Grundlagen der Landtechnik 5, 49-63.