Officially approved by the two Federal Offices for Agriculture and for the Environment
D | F | E

How to use the Terranimo® light simulation model


Download PDF

In order to be able to access the Terranimo program, you must open an internet browser (e.g., Internet Explorer, Firefox, Google Chrome or Safari) and enter www.terranimo.ch in the address bar.

On the home page, choose the desired language (D, F, E) as required in the upper right and then click on the Terranimo light version (Fig. 1).



Fig.1


Inputting the necessary parameters for calculating the soil compaction risk

The machine (vehicle) data are input in a first step. These data consist of the wheel load and the tyre pressure, from which the soil stress will then be calculated. If the exact values (kg or bar) are known, you can record them directly in the input field or set them using the slider () (Fig. 2).



Fig.2

If no precise machine data are available, they can be roughly estimated using input help. To do so, click on the button and the Machine Data Help Table will appear in a new window (Fig. 3). In the drop-down menu in the top left of this window, you can select the machine or a typical task (e.g., tractor, potato harvest, sowing, etc.). A table with additional items (vehicle, tyre dimensions, wheel load, tyre pressure) will then appear, in which a check should be placed beside the category that applies. The selected setting must be confirmed by clicking on the "Apply" button (the window will close).



Fig.3

The machine selection made under Wheel Load will also automatically fill in a default value for Tyre Pressure. You can make changes at any time via the input field or the slider.

Under Results you can select the Pressure Nomogramm tab, where the selected configuration is illustrated in the diagram as a small wheel (Fig. 4). In the example illustrated, for a wheel load of 2500 kg and a tyre pressure of 1 bar, a soil stress (calculated at a depth of 35 cm) of 89 kPa (0.89 bar) can be read on the graph (arrow 1) as well as in the table fields below the graph (arrow 2).



Fig.4

Once the machine data have been recorded, as a second step it is necessary to provide the soil data (clay content and water suction) for determining soil strength (Fig. 5). These data are input according to the same principle as for the machine data, either via the input field, the slider, or via a help window opened by clicking on the button.
Tip: If you are a user in Switzerland, you can use the clay content from the obligatory proof of ecological performance (ÖLN) soil analyses. If the latter are not readily available, a selection can be made from three categories in the help window (Fig. 5).

Matric potential (water suction) is an indicator for soil moisture (low matric potential = wet soil, high matric potential = dry soil) and it can be measured with instruments known as tensiometers. In actual practice, however, the latter are not widespread. Hence there is a help window available for this as well (click on ).



Fig.5

Under Results, you can select the Soil Nomogramm tab, where the selected configuration is illustrated in the diagram as a small wheel (Fig. 6). In the example, for a clay content of 20% and a matric potential of 15 cbar a soil strength of 157 kPa can be read from the graph (arrow 1). This value is also indicated in table fields below the graph (arrow 2).



Fig.6


Reading the soil compaction risk and interpreting the results

Once the machine data and the soil data have been determined, the compaction risk and the corresponding note on drivability can be read under "Results" on the Decision Chart tab (Fig. 7).



Fig.7

The result in the decision chart (Fig. 7) is interpreted as follows:

Green:
This area indicates that there is no risk of compaction, i.e., the chosen vehicle can be driven on the soil in its present moisture state without any hazard of compaction.

Yellow:
The yellow area indicates the critical transition zone with a considerable risk of compaction. In this case knowledge of additional soil properties will allow a more precise risk assessment. For example, the risk will decrease in stony (> 10% stones in the subsoil) and in well-structured soils (owing to, e.g., sustainable tillage, extensive root penetration, high humus content or good lime supply). In each case all possible means of stress reduction (e.g., lowering tyre pressure – in which case the tyre guides of the manufacturers should be consulted, only filling hoppers partially, or mounting twin tyres) should be implemented. The effect of the measure implemented can be validated with the help of the decision chart after appropriately adjusting the input data.

Red:
The red area indicates that compaction damage to the subsoil is to be expected. One must refrain from driving on the soil unless suitable immediate measures can be taken to reduce the compaction hazard to the yellow level (e.g., reducing the wheel load or tyre pressure).

Explanation of the border lines:

Green-yellow border:
Soil stress = 50% of the soil strength. According to the current level of knowledge, this border represents the transition from completely elastic behaviour to initial plastic deformation of the soil structure under a stress.

Yellow-red border:
Soil stress = 110% of the soil strength. If the soil stress exceeds the soil strength (increased by a range of tolerance), previous wheeling test findings indicate that considerable plastic deformation (and thus soil compaction damage) is to be expected.

Detailed information on how to interpret the results of the model can be found in chapter 4 of the Guidelines for Soil Protection in Agriculture of the Swiss Federal Offices for the Environment (FOEN) and Agriculture (FOAG).

Offiziell genehmigte Anwendung der beiden Bundesämter für Landwirtschaft und für Umwelt
D | F | E

Anleitung zum Simulationsmodell Terranimo® light


PDF Version zum Download

Um auf das Programm Terranimo zugreifen zu können, öffnet man einen Internet-Browser (z.B. Internet-Explorer, Firefox, Google Chrome oder Safari) und gibt in der Adressleiste www.terranimo.ch ein.

Auf der Startseite wählt man bei Bedarf oben rechts die gewünschte Sprache (D, F, E) aus und klickt anschliessend auf die Version Terranimo light (Abb.1).



Abb.1


Eingabe der notwendigen Kennwerte zur Berechnung des Bodenverdichtungsrisikos

In einem ersten Schritt werden die Maschinendaten eingegeben. Diese bestehen aus der Radlast und dem Reifendruck, woraus dann der Bodendruck berechnet wird. Sofern die genauen Werte (kg oder bar) bekannt sind, können diese direkt im Eingabefeld erfasst oder via Schieberegler () eingestellt werden (Abb.2).



Abb.2

Falls keine genauen Maschinendaten vorhanden sind, können diese mittels Eingabehilfe grob geschätzt werden. Hierzu klickt man auf den Button und die Maschinendaten Hilfstabelle erscheint in einem neuen Fenster (Abb. 3). Dort kann im Auswahlmenu oben links die Maschine oder ein typischer Arbeitsgang (z.B. Traktor, Kartoffelernte, Säen usw.) ausgewählt werden. Anschliessend erscheint eine Tabelle mit weiteren Angaben (Fahrzeug, Bereifungsdimension, Radlast, Reifendruck), in welcher bei der zutreffenden Kategorie ein Häkchen gesetzt wird. Die gewählte Einstellung muss durch Klicken auf die Schaltfläche „Übernehmen“ bestätigt werden (das Fenster schliesst sich).



Abb.3

Die unter Radlast getroffene Maschinenwahl füllt automatisch auch einen Standardwert für den Reifendruck ein. Änderungen können jederzeit via Eingabefeld oder Schieberegler vorgenommen werden.

Unter Resultate besteht die Möglichkeit in die Registerkarte Nomogramm Druck zu wechseln, wo die gewählte Konfiguration als kleines Rädchen im Diagramm dargestellt wird (Abb. 4). Im abgebildeten Beispiel kann bei einer Radlast von 2500 kg und einem Reifendruck von 1 bar der Bodendruck (berechnet in 35 cm Tiefe) von 89 kPa (0.89 bar) sowohl in der Grafik (Pfeil 1) als auch in den Tabellenfeldern unterhalb der Grafik abgelesen werden (Pfeil 2).



Abb.4

Sind die Maschinendaten erfasst, braucht es als zweiten Schritt noch die Bodendaten (Tongehalt und Saugspannung) zur Bestimmung der Bodenfestigkeit (Abb.5). Die Eingabe erfolgt nach dem gleichen Prinzip wie bei den Maschinendaten, entweder über das Eingabefeld, den Schiebregler oder mit einem Klick auf den Button über ein Hilfefenster.
Tipp: Der Tongehalt kann den obligatorischen ÖLN-Bodenanalysen entnommen werden. Sind diese nicht zur Hand kann im Hilfefenster aus drei Kategorien eine Wahl getroffen werden (Abb. 5).

Die Saugspannung ist ein Mass für die Bodenfeuchtigkeit (tiefe Saugspannung = nasser Boden, hohe Saugspannung = trockener Boden) und kann mit sogenannten Tensiometern gemessen werden. Diese sind aber in der Praxis nicht verbreitet. Deshalb steht auch hier ein Hilfsfenster zur Verfügung (Klick auf ).



Abb.5

Unter Resultate besteht die Möglichkeit in die Registerkarte Nomogramm Boden zu wechseln, wo die gewählte Konfiguration als kleines Rädchen im Diagramm dargestellt wird (Abb. 6). Im Beispiel kann bei einem Tongehalt von 20% und einer Saugspannung von 15 cbar eine Bodenfestigkeit von 157 kPa aus der Grafik abgelesen werden (Pfeil 1). Der Wert kann auch den Tabellenfeldern unterhalb der Grafik entnommen werden (Pfeil 2).



Abb.6


Ablesen des Bodenverdichtungsrisikos und Interpretation der Ergebnisse

Sind die Maschinendaten und die Bodendaten bestimmt, so kann unter Resultate auf der Registerkarte Entscheidungsdiagramm das Verdichtungsrisiko und der entsprechende Hinweis zur Befahrbarkeit abgelesen werden (Abb.7).



Abb.7

Das Ergebnis im Entscheidungsdiagramm (Abb. 7) ist folgendermassen zu interpretieren:

Grün:
Dieser Bereich zeigt keine Verdichtungsgefährdung an, d.h. der Boden kann im aktuellen Feuchtezustand gefahrlos mit dem ausgewählten Fahrzeug befahren werden.

Gelb:
Der gelbe Bereich zeigt den kritischen Übergangsbereich mit einer beträchtlichen Verdichtungsgefährdung. Die Gefährdungsabschätzung kann hier durch die Kenntnis zusätzlicher Bodeneigenschaften präzisiert werden. Zum Beispiel sinkt die Gefährdung bei hohen Skelettgehalten (> 10 % Steine im Unterboden) und bei Böden mit einer guten Struktur (z. B. dank konservierender Bodenbearbeitung, intensiver Durchwurzelung, hohem Humusgehalt oder guter Kalkversorgung). Auf jeden Fall sollten die Möglichkeiten zur Belastungsreduktion genutzt werden (z. B. Reifeninnendruck herabsetzen - wobei die Reifenratgeber der Hersteller zu beachten sind, Bunker nur teilweise füllen oder Doppelräder montieren). Die Auswirkung der getroffenen Massnahme kann nach entsprechender Anpassung der Eingabedaten mit Hilfe des Entscheidungsdiagrammes überprüft werden.

Rot:
Der rote Bereich zeigt an, dass eine Schadverdichtung im Unterboden zu erwarten ist. Das Befahren des Bodens ist zu unterlassen, ausser es können geeignete Sofortmassnahmen umgesetzt werden, die die Verdichtungsgefährdung auf die Stufe Gelb herabsetzen (z. B. Reduktion der Radlast oder des Reifeninnendrucks).

Erläuterung der Grenzlinien:

Grenze grün-gelb:
Bodendruck = 50% der Bodenfestigkeit. Diese Grenze repräsentiert gemäss aktuellem Kenntnisstand den Übergang vom vollkommen elastischen Verhalten zu ersten plastischen Deformationen der Bodenstruktur bei einer Belastung.

Grenze gelb-rot:
Bodendruck = 110% der Bodenfestigkeit. Wenn der Bodendruck die (um einen Toleranzbereich erhöhte) Bodenfestigkeit überschreitet, müssen aufgrund der bisherigen Ergebnisse aus Befahrungsversuchen beträchtliche plastische Deformationen (und damit Bodenschadverdichtungen) erwartet werden

Detaillierte Informationen zur Interpretation der Resultate des Modells finden sich in Kapitel 4 der Vollzugshilfe Bodenschutz in der Landwirtschaft der Bundesämter BLW und BAFU.