Officially approved by the two Federal Offices for Agriculture and for the Environment
D | F | E

How to use the Terranimo® light simulation model


Download PDF

In order to be able to access the Terranimo program, you must open an internet browser (e.g., Internet Explorer, Firefox, Google Chrome or Safari) and enter www.terranimo.ch in the address bar.

On the home page, choose the desired language (D, F, E) as required in the upper right and then click on the Terranimo light version (Fig. 1).



Fig.1


Inputting the necessary parameters for calculating the soil compaction risk

The machine (vehicle) data are input in a first step. These data consist of the wheel load and the tyre pressure, from which the soil stress will then be calculated. If the exact values (kg or bar) are known, you can record them directly in the input field or set them using the slider () (Fig. 2).



Fig.2

If no precise machine data are available, they can be roughly estimated using input help. To do so, click on the button and the Machine Data Help Table will appear in a new window (Fig. 3). In the drop-down menu in the top left of this window, you can select the machine or a typical task (e.g., tractor, potato harvest, sowing, etc.). A table with additional items (vehicle, tyre dimensions, wheel load, tyre pressure) will then appear, in which a check should be placed beside the category that applies. The selected setting must be confirmed by clicking on the "Apply" button (the window will close).



Fig.3

The machine selection made under Wheel Load will also automatically fill in a default value for Tyre Pressure. You can make changes at any time via the input field or the slider.

Under Results you can select the Pressure Nomogramm tab, where the selected configuration is illustrated in the diagram as a small wheel (Fig. 4). In the example illustrated, for a wheel load of 2500 kg and a tyre pressure of 1 bar, a soil stress (calculated at a depth of 35 cm) of 89 kPa (0.89 bar) can be read on the graph (arrow 1) as well as in the table fields below the graph (arrow 2).



Fig.4

Once the machine data have been recorded, as a second step it is necessary to provide the soil data (clay content and water suction) for determining soil strength (Fig. 5). These data are input according to the same principle as for the machine data, either via the input field, the slider, or via a help window opened by clicking on the button.
Tip: If you are a user in Switzerland, you can use the clay content from the obligatory proof of ecological performance (ÖLN) soil analyses. If the latter are not readily available, a selection can be made from three categories in the help window (Fig. 5).

Matric potential (water suction) is an indicator for soil moisture (low matric potential = wet soil, high matric potential = dry soil) and it can be measured with instruments known as tensiometers. In actual practice, however, the latter are not widespread. Hence there is a help window available for this as well (click on ).



Fig.5

Under Results, you can select the Soil Nomogramm tab, where the selected configuration is illustrated in the diagram as a small wheel (Fig. 6). In the example, for a clay content of 20% and a matric potential of 15 cbar a soil strength of 157 kPa can be read from the graph (arrow 1). This value is also indicated in table fields below the graph (arrow 2).



Fig.6


Reading the soil compaction risk and interpreting the results

Once the machine data and the soil data have been determined, the compaction risk and the corresponding note on drivability can be read under "Results" on the Decision Chart tab (Fig. 7).



Fig.7

The result in the decision chart (Fig. 7) is interpreted as follows:

Green:
This area indicates that there is no risk of compaction, i.e., the chosen vehicle can be driven on the soil in its present moisture state without any hazard of compaction.

Yellow:
The yellow area indicates the critical transition zone with a considerable risk of compaction. In this case knowledge of additional soil properties will allow a more precise risk assessment. For example, the risk will decrease in stony (> 10% stones in the subsoil) and in well-structured soils (owing to, e.g., sustainable tillage, extensive root penetration, high humus content or good lime supply). In each case all possible means of stress reduction (e.g., lowering tyre pressure – in which case the tyre guides of the manufacturers should be consulted, only filling hoppers partially, or mounting twin tyres) should be implemented. The effect of the measure implemented can be validated with the help of the decision chart after appropriately adjusting the input data.

Red:
The red area indicates that compaction damage to the subsoil is to be expected. One must refrain from driving on the soil unless suitable immediate measures can be taken to reduce the compaction hazard to the yellow level (e.g., reducing the wheel load or tyre pressure).

Explanation of the border lines:

Green-yellow border:
Soil stress = 50% of the soil strength. According to the current level of knowledge, this border represents the transition from completely elastic behaviour to initial plastic deformation of the soil structure under a stress.

Yellow-red border:
Soil stress = 110% of the soil strength. If the soil stress exceeds the soil strength (increased by a range of tolerance), previous wheeling test findings indicate that considerable plastic deformation (and thus soil compaction damage) is to be expected.

Detailed information on how to interpret the results of the model can be found in chapter 4 of the Guidelines for Soil Protection in Agriculture of the Swiss Federal Offices for the Environment (FOEN) and Agriculture (FOAG).

Approuvé officiellement par les deux Offices fédérales de l’agriculture et de l’environnement
D | F | E

Introduction à l’utilisation du modèle Terranimo® light


Version téléchargeable (pdf)

Pour utiliser Terranimo, démarrez votre navigateur Internet (p. ex. Internet Explorer, Firefox, Google Chrome ou Safari) et tapez www.terranimo.ch dans la barre d’adresse.

Sur la page d’entrée, choisissez si nécessaire la langue (D, F, E), puis cliquez sur la version Terranimo light (fig. 1).



Fig.1


Saisie des paramètres nécessaires pour calculer le risque de compaction du sol

Première étape: entrez les paramètres relatifs aux machines, soit la charge à la roue et la pression de gonflage du pneu, à partir desquels est calculée la contrainte exercée sur le sol. Si vous connaissez les valeurs exactes (en kg ou bar), vous pouvez les entrer directement dans le champ correspondant, ou les indiquer sur l’échelle à l’aide du curseur (), selon la fig. 2.



Fig.2

Si vous ne disposez pas des données exactes, vous pouvez les estimer à l’aide d’une table, que vous ouvrez par un clic sur le bouton . Dans la fenêtre table auxiliaire: paramètres machine (fig. 3), choisissez la machine ou le procédé type approprié dans le menu déroulant (p. ex. tracteur, récolte de p.d.t., herser & semer, etc.). Une table apparaît alors, avec d’autres données (véhicule, pneumatiques, charge à la roue, pression de gonflage). Cochez les caractéristiques qui s’appliquent et confirmez votre sélection en cliquant sur le bouton "Importer". La fenêtre se ferme.



Fig.3

La sélection d’une machine sous Charge à la roue ajoute automatiquement une valeur de pression standard dans le champ Pression de gonflage. Il est possible en tout temps de modifier ces chiffres directement dans le champ de saisie ou en déplaçant le curseur.

Sous Résultats, vous avez la possibilité de passer à la vue Nomogramme pression, où la configuration choisie est affichée dans le graphique sous forme de petite roue (fig. 4). Dans l’exemple illustré, la charge à la roue de 2500 kg et une pression de gonflage du pneu de 1 bar entraînent une contrainte au sol (calculée à 35 cm de profondeur) de 89 kPa (0.89 bar). Cette valeur peut être lue aussi bien sur le graphique (flèche 1), que dans les champs en dessous (flèche 2).



Fig.4

Une fois saisis les paramètres relatifs aux machines, il faut entrer les caractéristiques du sol (teneur en argile et force de succion) afin de déterminer sa résistance (fig. 5). La procédure est la même que ci-dessus : saisir un chiffre dans le champ, positionner le curseur sur la valeur souhaitée ou cliquer sur le bouton .
Astuce: La teneur en argile figure sur les certificats des analyses de sol requises par les PER. A défaut, choisir une des trois catégories proposées dans la fenêtre d’aide (fig. 5).

La force de succion est une mesure de l’humidité du sol (force de succion basse = sol mouillé, force élevée = sol sec) et peux être déterminée à l’aide d’un tensiomètre, appareil cependant peu répandu dans la pratique. Une aide est donc également proposée pour ce paramètre (cliquer sur ).



Fig.5

Sous Résultats, vous avez la possibilité de passer à la vue Nomogramme sol, où la configuration choisie est affichée sous forme de petite roue (fig. 6). Dans l’exemple illustré, une teneur en argile de 20 % et une force de succion de 15 cbar correspondent à une résistance du sol de 157 kPa). Cette valeur peut être lue aussi bien sur le graphique (flèche 1), que dans les champs en dessous (flèche 2).



Fig.6


Détermination du risque de compaction et interprétation des résultats

Une fois saisies les données relatives aux machine et au sol, le risque de compaction s’affiche dans l’onglet Diagramme de décision avec un commentaire relatif à la circulation sur le sol (fig. 7).



Abb.7

Voici comment interpréter le résultat obtenu (fig. 7):

Domaine vert:
aucun risque de compaction; il est donc possible de circuler sans risque sur le sol dans son état actuel avec le véhicule prévu.

Domaine jaune:
domaine de transition critique, avec risque de compaction notable. La connaissance d’autres caractéristiques du sol permet de préciser le niveau de risque. Ainsi, lorsque la teneur en pierres du sous-sol dépasse 10 % ou si le sol est bien structuré (notamment parce que des mesures de conservation ont été prises, que l’enracinement est bon, qu’il a une teneur élevée en humus ou bénéficie d’un apport de calcaire suffisant), alors le risque diminue. Dans tous les cas, il faut également tirer profit des possibilités techniques de réduire la contrainte exercée sur le sol : p. ex. diminuer la pression de gonflage, en tenant compte des notices d’emploi des fabricants, ne remplir que partiellement la trémie, monter des roues jumelées, etc. L’effet des mesures peut être vérifié en modifiant le diagramme décisionnel en fonction des nouvelles conditions.

Domaine rouge:
risque quasi certain de compaction persistante de la couche sous-jacente du sol. Il faut s’abstenir de circuler sur le sol, sauf si des mesures immédiates permettent de ramener le risque dans la zone jaune (p. ex. réduction de la pression de gonflage ou de la charge à la roue).

Limite entre les zones:

Limite vert-jaune:
la contrainte exercée sur le sol équivaut à 50 % de la résistance du sol. Selon l’état actuel des connaissances, cette valeur correspond au passage d’un état de plasticité totale à un début de déformation plastique de la structure du sol en réaction à une pression.

Limite jaune-rouge:
la contrainte exercée sur le sol équivaut à 110 % de la résistance du sol. Selon les résultats d’essais de roulage au champ, lorsque la contrainte exercée sur un sol dépasse la résistance du sol (majorée d’un facteur d’incertitude), il s’ensuit une déformation plastique importante de la structure du sol, et par conséquent une compaction persistante du sous-sol.

Pour plus de détails sur l’interprétation des résultats du modèle, consultez le chapitre 4 de l’aide à l’exécution « Protection des sols dans l’agriculture », publiée conjointement par l’OFEV et l’OFAG.